Post your SpanAM through WWI Navy uniforms

ChrisG43

I am fairly new to the US side of collecting, I would like to pick up a few early US Navy Uniforms, primarily SpanAM period through WWI. Feel free to post your enlisted and Officers uniforms, I haven't found a lot of references or threads on this subject. Also if anyone has any good websites that show uniforms by all means post them. I'm trying to educate myself the best I can before I buy. Also, how does one distinguish between a WWI jumper and a WWII jumper? THanks, Chris....

AAMUC's "FOOTLOCKER" ran an excellent series on the differences of USN EM uniforms from the late 1800's through WWII. I look for my copies and see what I can find. I have a few WWI USN EM jumpers that I will post also.

All,

Here is an odd duck in my collection. I'm 99% sure that this was worn on duty, given where it came from. When I get a chance, I'll take some other pictures of WW1 and Pre WW1 jumpers/frocks, etc in my collection.

John

post-857-1197907428.jpg

post-857-1197907440.jpg

post-857-1197907447.jpg

I might add that I got this off of E-Bay a few years ago. These are the E-Bay pictures. Even though it isn't reg, I doubt if it was faked, given the USMC O/S chevrons on it, and given what I paid for it. Still, an odd duck!

John

Is it just the camera angle or dose the jacket have only four buttons? Also is there a label?

Yep, it only has 4 buttons! And, there is a label in it, but the name escapes me right now. I'm at work and don't have the tunic handy, will post it tonight. Just an odd duck.

John

I wish I could post some early century Navy material, but I dont have any! I have found that any Navy uniforms before ww2, perhaps other than some enlisted jumpers or flat caps on occaision, are exceptionally scarce and down right rare in many instances.