My Favorite M2 Switchblade

Allan H.

I have been collecting militaria since I was about ten years old, but I got interested in airborne when I was in 8th grade, thanks to a very special teacher of mine- Sherman Oyler. Sherm was a paratrooper in the 502nd PIR of the 101st Airborne Division and he made jumps into Normandy and into the Netherlands during the war.

Sherm was a real character and one of the things he liked to do was to dress up in his jump suit and jump off his desk when we got to the WWII portion of his American history class. Sherm and his wife Joyce allowed me to "adopt" them as grandparents and I got to spend a lot of time with them over the years up until their deaths.

One of the most precious items that I have is an M2 switchblade knife as issued to paratroopers during the war. Condition wise, this is the worst one that I have, but it has a better story than all of the others that I own. You see, this was a gift from Sherm many years ago.

The spring mechanism is out of the knife and there is pitting to the blade and the fittings. The bone handle is missing a piece here that safety lock and button are located and there is a small chip out of the back side grip as well. So, why would this be such a "great" knife? Well, here is the story.

On that night of nights, Private Oyler jumped from a plane over Normandy and found himself in a cow pasture with a German machine gun position in it as well. Oyler landed close to a hedgerow, so upon landing, he crawled up under the folliage so that he could get himself out of his parachute and into the fight. The German gun had been firing at him during his descent, so he was in a hurry to get out of the harness because he figured there would be a patrol looking for him soon.