16 replies to this topic

#1 1917Corpsman

1917Corpsman
  • Members
    • Member ID: 11,098
  • 117 posts

Posted 15 December 2011 - 08:01 AM

Hello All,

A friend of mine told me he has a Colt DA revolver 1902 dated and in 38 Long Colt. He also says it was used by the US Navy. There is the letter 'N' stamped on the butt and also a star stamped on it. He firmly believes these are US Navy stamps. I have my doubts. I'm thinking it's a manufacturer's proof markings. Also this revolver still has the rearing horse on the side plate. Anyone out there able to provide your expertise on what my friend has? Look forward to your replies!

Thanks!

Rick

#2 doyler

doyler
  • Members
    • Member ID: 342
  • 33,850 posts

Posted 15 December 2011 - 08:07 AM

I dont have my Flaydermans book handy but I think the serial number will also give you a beter idea to the issue of the revolver.

#3 doyler

doyler
  • Members
  • 33,850 posts

Posted 15 December 2011 - 08:16 AM

Im no expert on Colts but Im fairly certain that depending on the model contract Navy colts were marked USN or US Navy on the but.

#4 Blair217

Blair217
  • Members
    • Member ID: 5,260
  • 715 posts

Posted 15 December 2011 - 04:44 PM

The naval variations are marked on the butt U.S.N./anchor/38 D.A. per Flaydermans.

#5 1917Corpsman

1917Corpsman
  • Members
  • 117 posts

Posted 15 December 2011 - 05:23 PM

The naval variations are marked on the butt U.S.N./anchor/38 D.A. per Flaydermans.